
        Page 1 of 11       REV. 2.14.19         

Ph: 602.262.4638 ● Fax: 602.534.9345 ● 200 W. Washington St., 1st Fl., Phoenix, AZ, 85003 
Web Site: phoenix.gov/licenseservices  ● Liquor Licensing Email: liquor@phoenix.gov 

CITY CLERK DEPARTMENT 
LICENSE SERVICES 

Special Event Liquor License (Series 15) 
Application Packet 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

What is a Special Event Liquor License? 
A Special Event Liquor License is a temporary, non-transferable liquor license that allows a qualified organization to sell and 
serve spirituous liquor, for consumption only on the premises where the spirituous liquor is sold, and for the period 
authorized on the license. 

When is a Special Event Liquor License required? 
A license is required to deal in liquor in the state of Arizona. If your organization will purchase, store, serve, or provide liquor, 
you will be dealing in liquor and will need to be licensed. 

Who can apply for a Special Event Liquor License?
 A nonprofit entity that is organized as a nonprofit entity in Arizona (or pursuant to the laws of another state) and that is a

nonprofit entity under section 501(c) of the internal revenue code of the United States.
 A government entity or political party or campaign committee supporting a candidate for public office or a ballot measure.

How do I get started?
First 

 

Then 
 

If City approval is not required, you do not need to complete this application packet – and instead you need to check on the event location (and obtain any required non-liquor 
City permits/authorizations), complete the State’s application, and submit the State application directly to the DLLC. 

Check Event Location
Zoning: Is the activity/use allowed 
at the location? Does the location 

need a Use Permit?
Call 602-262-7131 #6  OR 

Visit 200 W. Washington St., 2nd Fl.

Building: Does the building have 
a valid Certificate of Occupancy? 

Call 602-262-7811  OR
Visit 200 W. Washington St., 3rd Fl.

Fire Department: 
Does the location need any 

Fire/Assembly/Canopy/ 
Fireworks Permits?
Call 602-262-6771.

Is the event in a 
City Street or Park?
Additional permits/

fees may apply. 
Check online.

phoenix.gov/parks/special-events

The Special Event will be on 
any portion of a location that is 

not covered by an existing 
active regular liquor license 

(ex: parking lot).

Submit at least 10 days prior to the event date.

Submit the Special Event Application

Submit at least 90 days prior to the event date.

DIRECTLY TO THE CITY IF: DIRECTLY TO THE STATE IF:OR

The location does 
not already have an active 

regular liquor license.

OR

Submit the application 
directly to the City:

License Services
200 W. Washington St., 

1st Fl. 
602-262-4638 #3

CITY APPROVAL IS
REQUIRED 

(ARS 4-203.02.B)

The location already 
has an active regular 

liquor license.

The Special Event will 
take place ONLY within 
the currently licensed 

area/premises.

Submit the application 
directly to the State 

(DLLC):

800 W. Washington St.,
5th Fl. 

602-542-5141
CITY APPROVAL IS 

NOT REQUIRED 
(ARS 4-203.02.C)

Is the event in a  
City Street or Park? 
Additional permits/ 

fees may apply.  
Check online. 

phoenix.gov/parks/parks/party 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
http://www.phoenix.gov/parks/parks/party
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Special Event Liquor License Application Packet 
For Applications that Require City Approval 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION - PLEASE REVIEW THIS ENTIRE PACKET THOROUGHLY BEFORE APPLYING 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 
ITEMS 4-7 MUST BE SUBMITTED TO LICENSE SERVICES WHEN APPLYING 

 
 
 

 

Section

1

• Process Summary & Processing Time Frames (pg. 3)

Section

2

• Application Process Steps A-G (pgs. 4-6)

Section

3

• Laws (pg. 7)

Section

4

• Items listed on the Applicant Checklist (pg. 8)

Section

5

• City of Phoenix Application & Fee(s) (pg. 9) 

Section

6

• City of Phoenix Police Department Questionnaire (pgs. 10-11)

Section

7

• AZ Department of Liquor Licenses and Control (DLLC) Application
(Separate form not included in this packet - Available on the License Services & DLLC web sites)

Fax: 
602-534-9345

Call: 
602-262-4638

In Person: 
200 W. Washington St., 1st Floor 

Phoenix, AZ 85003 

Online: 
phoenix.gov/licenseservices 

Email: 
liquor@phoenix.gov 

Questions? 
If after reading this packet you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact License Services. 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
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1
• Process Summary & Processing Time Frames

City Application Process
Apply at the 

City of Phoenix

Apply 90 days prior 
to the event date.

Submit a City of 
Phoenix Application & 

State Application. 

Include items listed on 
the City of Phoenix 

Applicant Checklist .

Pay City Fees & 
provide State fee.

City Reviews Application

License Services collects the 
application/paperwork & 

forwards to the Police, 
Planning & Development, & 

Fire Departments.

Police Department reviews 
application & makes a 
recommendation to 

License Services.

License Services reviews the 
application/paperwork & 

department recommendations 
& makes a recommendation 

to the City Council.

City Council 
Reviews Application

Application is scheduled 
onto a Formal  City

Council Meeting Agenda.

City Council approves or 
denies the application. 

(Exception: See FAQ’s City 
Manager’s Office approval) 

If approved, the application 
is submitted to the DLLC by 

the City or the applicant.

The DLLC requires 
City approval.

State (DLLC) 
Reviews Application

License Services forwards the 
approved application & State 

fee to the DLLC directly (if there 
is enough time & if fees were 

provided) OR the applicant 
takes the City approved 

application & State fee  to the 
DLLC. The City approved 

application & State fee must be 
submitted to the DLLC at least 

10 days prior to the event date.

DLLC reviews the application & 
approves the application & 
issues the license OR denies 

the application.

• Contacts the following City departments to verify that the location and/or building (if applicable) has all required 
City permits and that the location/building is adequate for the proposed activity:

- Planning & Development Department
- Fire Department
- Street Transportation Department (if the event is in the street/right of way)
- Parks and Recreation Department (if the event is in a City street or park) 

Applicant 
Checks the 

Event 
Location

• Submits the following items to License Services 90 days prior to the date of the event:
- Forms: City of Phoenix Application (pg. 9 of this packet), City of Phoenix Police Department Questionnaire

(pgs. 10-11 of this packet), AZ DLLC Application for Special Event License (on License Services & DLLC web sites)
- Checklist Items: Items listed on the Applicant Checklist (pg. 8 of this packet)
- Fee(s): Reference the City of Phoenix Application (pg. 9 of this packet) and DLLC application (available on the

License Services & DLLC web sites)

Applicant 
Submits 

Forms & Fees

• License Services sends the application to the following department(s) for review:
- Police
- Planning and Development
- Fire 

Department 
Reviews

• License Services reviews the Special Event Application:
- Reviews the paperwork/items submitted by the applicant, determines whether there are any missing items or 

corrections needed and notifies the applicant/requests corrections, as needed
- Reviews the departmental recommendations
- Makes a recommendation to the City Council on whether to approve or deny the license application
- Schedules the item onto a Formal City Council Meeting Agenda for Council review/action

License 
Services 
Review

• If the application is approved by the City Council: The applicant is contacted to pick up the approved application at 
License Services and take to the DLLC for review/issuance of the license.

• If the application is denied by the City Council: License Services issues a Notice of Denial to the applicant. The
application is not forwarded to the DLLC for review.

• City approval of a Special Event Liquor License application is required when the event is held at an unlicensed 
location OR in any portion of a location that is not covered by an existing active regular liquor license. ARS 4-203.02(B).

City Council 
Review

It is recommended that applications be submitted to License Services at least 90 days prior to the event date 

GENERAL OVERVIEW 

SUMMARY OVERVIEW  
(For step-by-step instructions/additional details refer to Section 2, pages 4-6 of this packet.) 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
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A. VERIFY THE LOCATION IS ADEQUATE AND THE BUILDING (IF APPLICABLE) HAS ALL REQUIRED PERMITS:
Prior to submitting an application to License Services, the applicant should verify the location and/or building
(if applicable) has all required City permits and is adequate for the proposed activity:
■ Planning and Development Department (PDD):

• Zoning Check – to verify the proposed location has adequate zoning and/or permits for the proposed activity.  Contact PDD
by phone at 602-262-7131 #6, in person at 200 W. Washington St., 2nd Fl., Phoenix, AZ 85003, or go online under Planning
and Zoning at: phoenix.gov/pdd.

• Building Check (if applicable) – to verify the proposed building has a valid certificate of occupancy. Contact PDD by phone at
602-262-7811, in person at 200 W. Washington St., 3rd Fl., Phoenix, AZ 85003, or go online under Development Services at:
phoenix.gov/pdd.

■ Fire Department:
• Permit Check – to verify whether any fire permits are required. (Example: Assembly Permit/Canopy Permit/etc.) Contact the

Fire Department by phone at 602-262-6771 or go online under Permits & Inspections/Permits Required at: phoenix.gov/fire.
■ Parks and Recreation Department & Street Transportation Department: If the Special Event will take place on a City Street or in

City Park, please review the information under Authorization to have an event in a City park or on a City street under Special Event
Liquor at phoenix.gov/licenseservices before submitting an application. Additional permits/fees from the Parks & Recreation
and/or Street Transportation Departments may apply. Obtaining a Beer Permit from the City of Phoenix Parks and Recreation
Department does not authorize the sale, service to the public, or distribution of alcohol.

B. APPLY AT THE LICENSE SERVICES OFFICE:
■ Applications must be submitted directly to the City of Phoenix, City Clerk Department, License Services Office located at 200 W.

Washington St., 1st floor, Phoenix, AZ 85003.
■ Apply at least 90 days prior to the event date:  Special Event Liquor License applications are scheduled onto a Formal Council

Meeting Agenda for City Council review/action. The application cannot be scheduled onto a Council Agenda (for approval
recommendation) until all event items/issues are resolved.

■ Make an appointment:  To help expedite service, call License Services (602-262-4638) to make an appointment.
■ Sign-In: Upon arriving to License Services, applicants must sign-in on the lobby computer for assistance. Applicants will be helped

at the time of their appointment, or if they do not have an appointment, in the order in which they signed-in.
■ Have forms & required applicant checklist items ready:  To avoid processing delays or interruptions, applicants should ensure all

application forms are filled out and all required checklist items are available and ready at the time of application. Otherwise, it can
take up to an hour to submit an application or the applicant may need to make multiple trips to License Services.

■ Submit the following items to License Services:
• Items listed on the Applicant Checklist (pg. 8 of this packet)

• City of Phoenix Application (pg. 9 of this packet)

• City of Phoenix Police Department Questionnaire (pgs. 10-11 of this packet)

• AZ DLLC Application for Special Event License (available on the License Services web site & DLLC web site)

APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIAL EVENT LIQUOR LICENSE APPLICATION:
The Applicant listed on the City & State applications must be a member of the qualified organization. This person is responsible for
the event. License Services staff will check the AZ Corporation Commission web site to confirm if the Applicant is a director/officer of
the organization. Alternatively, if the Applicant is not listed on the AZ Corporation Commission web site (as a director/officer), a
letter from someone listed as a director/officer can submit a letter authorizing the Applicant to submit the application on behalf of
the organization.

C. PAY FEES:
■ DLLC (State) fees:  Refer to the DLLC Application or to the DLLC website for fee amount(s). DLLC fee(s) are paid directly to the DLLC.
■ City Fees: (For more information, reference the City of Phoenix Application – Section #5, pg. 9 of this packet, or visit the License Services Web Site)

 Application Fee: Depends on the number of event attendees. (Range: $290 - $450)
 Daily License Fee: $10.00 per event day.
 Additional Fee: If the application is received 30 days or less prior to the event date, an additional $65.00 fee will be charged.
• Due Upon Applying: The application fee, daily license fee & $65 fee (if applicable) are due when the application is submitted.
• Non-refundable:  The application fee and $65 fee (if applicable) are non-refundable. Once the application is submitted to

License Services, the application fee and $65 fee (if applicable) will be due and will not be refunded, even if the application is
withdrawn, denied, or the event is cancelled for any reason.

• Non-transferable:  The City application fee and $65 fee (if applicable) for one event cannot be transferred to another event
due to application withdrawal, denial, or cancellation of the event.

2
• Application Process Steps A-G

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
http://phoenix.gov/pdd
http://phoenix.gov/pdd
http://www.phoenix.gov/fire
https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing/liquor/special
http://azliquor.gov/series15.cfm
http://ecorp.azcc.gov/
http://www.azliquor.gov/series15.cfm
https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing/liquor/special
https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing/liquor/special
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• Payment Center:  Fees are paid at the City of Phoenix Payment Center (not in the License Services Office). When applying in
person, allow enough time to complete both the application submittal and payment. Arriving close to closing time (after 4pm
or earlier, depending on the volume of walk-in customers) may not allow enough time for application submittal and payment
of fees on the same day. Please plan accordingly.

 

■ Other Fees: Other fees may apply if you need other permits/services from other City Departments or County/State Agencies. The
payment of any such applicable fees are payable as stipulated by the corresponding issuing department(s)/agency(s). Examples:
• Off-Duty Police/Security Personnel
• Planning & Development Department Permits: Use Permits/Certificate of Occupancy/Electrical/Generator Permits 
• Fire Department Permits: Public Assembly Permits (indoor/outdoor)/Tent or Canopy Permits/Fireworks Permits 
• Parks and Recreation Department and/or Street Transportation department permits 
• County Permits: Food Program Permits/Food Handlers Card. For more information, call the County at 602-506-6872 or go

online: www.maricopa.gov/EnvSvc/EnvHealth/SpecialEvents/Default.aspx.
 

D. DEPARTMENTAL REVIEWS: The application will be sent to the following departments for review. The reviewing Department(s) may
request additional information from the applicant directly.
■ Police Department (PD): Reviews the application in its entirety and provides a recommendation to License Services. PD will complete

a background check on the Applicant (person listed in Sec. 1 of the DLLC application), review and approve the proposed security
planned for the event, and ensure the applicant has coordinated/arranged for Off Duty Police Officers/Security Personnel for the
event security, as needed. PD will contact the applicant to go over the application and may need to contact the person in charge of
security for the event.  PD may request additional information directly from the applicant. For more information, call the PD liaison
Ida Alonge at: 602-438-6625.
• Items that will be considered during the Police Department evaluation of the application include:

 Responsible Party: The applicant is responsible for the event & activities that occur at the event.
 Suitability of Proposed Location: History of violations at the location and/or history of excess calls for Police service at the

proposed location. Location suitability in relation to the type of event.
 Date and time of the event and activities scheduled during the event.
 Number of expected attendees in relation to the proposed security plan.
 Liquor Handling: Proposed mechanisms to ensure alcohol service to 21+ only, proper avenues used to obtain alcohol,

alcohol storage, security plan, etc.
■ Planning and Development Department (PDD): If the Special Event will take place on private or commercial property and/or in a

building, the location may require Use Permits or a Certificate of Occupancy (additional fees may apply). Examples: To allow alcohol
sales in a specific zoning district, or to allow live entertainment, patron dancing, a dance hall, temporary fencing, use of generators,
etc. Before submitting an application, and for more information, contact PDD at 602-262-7131, #6 for zoning and/or 602-262-7811
for building, or go online: www.phoenix.gov/pdd.

■ Fire Department (FD): Receives a copy of the Special Event Liquor License application. The FD may require additional permits
and/or an on-site inspection to ensure compliance with the Fire Code (additional fees may apply). Examples: Public Assembly
Indoor/ Outdoor, Fireworks, Tent/Canopy, etc. Before submitting an application, and for more information, please contact the FD
at 602-262-6771 or go online under Permits & Inspections/Permits Required at: phoenix.gov/fire.
 

 
ATTENTION: THE APPROVAL & GRANTING OF A LIQUOR LICENSE ONLY AUTHORIZES THE SALE OF ALCOHOL & DOES NOT AUTHORIZE OR APPROVE THE EVENT OR 
EVENT ACTIVITIES AT THE PROPOSED LOCATION. CONTACT THE DEPARTMENTS LISTED ABOVE BEFORE APPLYING FOR THE LIQUOR LICENSE TO VERIFY WHETHER THE 
PROPOSED EVENT WILL REQUIRE ADDITIONAL PERMITS OR APPROVALS. FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN MORE COSTS OR MAY PREVENT THE EVENT FROM 
HAPPENING -- EVEN IF THE LIQUOR LICENSE IS APPROVED. 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
http://www.maricopa.gov/EnvSvc/EnvHealth/SpecialEvents/Default.aspx
http://phoenix.gov/pdd
http://www.phoenix.gov/fire
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E. LICENSE SERVICES APPLICATION REVIEW 

■ Upon receiving an application, License Services evaluates the application paperwork and determines whether any required items 
are missing or require correction(s).  

■ The applicant is notified of any deficiencies or required corrections. 
 
 

F. CITY COUNCIL REVIEW: 
Special Event Liquor License applications are scheduled to be heard and acted upon by the Phoenix City Council at Formal Council 
Meetings. Pursuant to Phoenix City Code, the City Council considers the following criteria:  P.C.C. 6-14(B) 
■ Whether the event will be open to the public.  ■ Criminal history of the applicant.  
■ Nature of the event.  ■ Security measures taken by the applicant.  
■ Type of alcohol that will be sold at the event. ■ How the alcohol will be served. 
■ Length of the event. ■ Sanitary facilities available to the participants. 
■ Anticipated number of attendees. ■ The nature of the sound amplification systems.  
■ Whether, within the last three years, the applicant or the event’s promoter held an event that created a neighborhood 

disturbance or whether the event site has generated neighborhood disturbance complaints. 
■ Potential for problems in the neighborhood of the proposed event including, but not limited to, noise, traffic, lack of parking, 

and excessive duration or hours of operation. 
■ Whether the proposed event is compatible with the event site’s normal use. 

 

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure the above listed items have been considered and any potential issues addressed 
prior to applying for a Special Event Liquor License.   

 

If the application is not received in time for City Council review, and under certain circumstances, the review may be conducted by the 
City Manager’s Office.  However, the City Manager’s Office is prohibited from approving more than two special event liquor license 
applications for a single organization during a calendar year.  Any additional applications for the same organization may only be 
approved or disapproved by the Phoenix City Council.  Please plan accordingly. PCC 6-14(C) 

 

Additionally, only the City Council may approve or disapprove a Special Event Liquor License application for an event at a residential 
property at which attendance by 500 or more persons is anticipated.  Please plan accordingly. PCC 6-14(D) 

 
G. APPLICATION RESULTS: 

If the application is approved by the City: 
■ The applicant will be notified of the City approval by phone, mail or email.   
■ The application forms must then be reviewed by the DLLC.  

• The DLLC requires at least 10 days to review/process the City approved Special Event Liquor License application. 
• License Services will contact the applicant so they may pick up the approved application and “hand-carry” it to the DLLC (800 

W. Washington St., 5th Floor, Phoenix, AZ 85007). 
• If the application is approved by the DLLC, the license will be issued by the DLLC directly to the applicant.  

 

If the application is denied by the City: 
■ License Services will send a Notice to the applicant with the reasons for denial. 
■ City approval of a Special Event Liquor License application is required when the event is held at an unlicensed location OR in any 

portion of a location that is not covered by an existing active regular liquor license. ARS 4-203.02(B). 
 
 
 
 
 

ATTENTION:  THE CITY OF PHOENIX APPROVAL OF A LIQUOR LICENSE APPLICATION (ALONE) DOES NOT GRANT THE APPLICANT THE 
RIGHT TO SELL OR SERVE SPIRITUOUS LIQUORS.  ONLY APPROVAL BY THE CITY & SUBSEQUENT APPROVAL & ISSUANCE OF THE 
LICENSE BY THE DLLC WILL AUTHORIZE THE SALE/SERVICE OF SPIRITUOUS LIQUORS WITHIN THE CITY OF PHOENIX.  THE APPROVAL 
AND GRANTING OF A LIQUOR LICENSE ONLY AUTHORIZES THE SALE OF ALCOHOL AND DOES NOT AUTHORIZE OR APPROVE THE EVENT OR 
EVENT ACTIVITIES AT THE PROPOSED LOCATION. OTHER PERMITS OR LICENSES MAY BE REQUIRED FROM OTHER CITY OF PHOENIX 
DEPARTMENTS, OR COUNTY/STATE AGENCIES FOR THE PROPOSED ACTIVITY -- READ SECTION 2 OF THIS PACKET THOROUGHLY.  IT IS THE 
APPLICANT’S RESPONSIBILITY TO ENSURE THE EVENT COMPLIES WITH ALL CITY, COUNTY & STATE REQUIREMENTS/LAWS.  
 
 
 

 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
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■ Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS.): Title 4. Online at: www.azleg.gov/
■ Arizona Administrative Code (AAC): Title 19. Online at: www.azsos.gov/
■ Phoenix City Code (PCC): Chapter 6. Online at: phoenix.gov/licenseservices

Basic Summary of Rules/Laws: For a more complete list of rules, please refer to the above listed online resources. 

■ License Required: It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or deal in liquor sales, or to employ or hire another to sell or deal in liquor
sales, without possessing a valid license. ARS 4-244.

■ Qualified Organization: Is a government entity or a political party or campaign committee supporting a candidate for public office or a
ballot measure, or a nonprofit entity that is organized as a nonprofit entity in this state or pursuant to the laws of another state and
that is a nonprofit entity under section 501 (c) of the internal revenue code of the United States. The nonprofit entity shall demonstrate
that it is in good standing in Arizona. ARS 4-203.02(E)

■ License Approval: City approval is required if the proposed event location does not already have an active regular liquor license OR the
event will be on any portion of a location that is not covered by an existing active regular liquor license (example: a parking lot). If City
approval is required, the Special Event Liquor License applications (City & State forms) must be submitted to License Services and then
approved by Phoenix City Council before being submitted to the State. Alternatively, and no more than twice in a calendar year per
qualified organization, the application may be submitted to License Services and then reviewed and approved by the City Manager’s
Office. If the location already has an active regular liquor license AND the Special Event will take place ONLY within the currently licensed
area/premise, City approval is not required and the Special Event Liquor License application (State form) should be submitted directly
to the State at least 10 days prior to the event date (and not to License Services). ARS 4-203.02(B) & (D), A.A.C R19-1-205, PCC 6-14.

■ Limited Number of Special Event Days & Duration:  Qualifying organizations will be granted no more than 10 days in a calendar year
for special event liquor licensing in the State of Arizona. It is the responsibility of the licensee to know how many days the qualifying
organization has used in the State of Arizona. The City of Phoenix does not keep track of days used in other cities. The 10 days may be
used all in one event (one event = consecutive days), or may be split-up into multiple events; not exceeding 10 days total in a calendar
year for all events combined in the State of Arizona. An event consists of consecutive days at the same location. The license is 
automatically terminated upon closing of the last day of the event or the expiration of the license. AAC R19-1-205.

■ Limited Number of Events at Unlicensed Locations: A physical location that does not have a regular liquor license may not be issued
more than 30 days of special event licenses during the same calendar year. (Except: locations owned, operated, leased, managed or
controlled by the US, the State of AZ, or any City, Town or County in AZ.) ARS 4-203.02(D).

 

■ Proceeds/Collected Revenues:  The qualified organization must receive at least twenty-five percent (25%) of the gross revenues of all
spirituous liquor sold at the special event and at least seventy-five percent (75%) of the gross revenues of any approved charitable
auction of spirituous liquor. ARS 4-203.02(H) & (I)

■ Restrictions: Alcohol cannot be sold between 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Monday through Sunday. ARS 4-244(15).

■ Rides/Concession Games: If the event will include any Rides/Games as defined by the Phoenix City Code, the company operating the
Rides/Games must have a current Amusement License with the City of Phoenix. PCC 7-3, PCC 7-8.

 

■ Live Auctions: If the event will include a Live Auction, the auctioneer for the Live Auction will require an auctioneer license from the
City of Phoenix, unless the Auctioneer is donating his/her services, or the Auctioneer is hired through, and working for, an Auction
House licensed through the City of Phoenix. PCC 19-3 & 19-3.01.

3
• Laws

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
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4
• Applicant Checklist

Applicant is a qualified organization  (ARS 4-203.02(E))

• Section 3 on the DLLC Application: Applicant listed the organization’s Non-Profit/I.R.S. Tax Exempt Number
• Organization should be registered with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) as tax-exempt under Section 501(c)
• Organization should be registered (as non-profit) with the AZ Corporation Commission & be in good standing

Applicant provided required application forms & fees
• City of Phoenix Application (pg. 9 of this packet)
• City Police Department Questionnaire (pgs. 10-11 of this packet)
• DLLC Application for Special Event License (available on the License Services & DLLC web sites)
• Application fee, daily license fee, and $65 fee (if applicable) -- reference pg. 9 of this packet

Applicant provided complete information on the required application forms
• Each question has an answer (no blanks)
• Security Controls/Measures submitted on the City Police Department Questionnaire match the information in Sec. 6 of the

DLLC application

Applicant submitted required documents
• A valid government issued picture ID for the applicant (person listed in Section 1 on the DLLC application)
•IRS Determination Letter showing applying organization is tax-exempt under Section 501(c) of the internal revenue code

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE REQUIRED AT THE TIME OF APPLICATION WITH THE CITY OF PHOENIX:

City Application - Questions Guide 

Question #1:  Qualified organization’s name 
matches the name listed with the AZ Corporation 
Commission AND the IRS Determination Letter. 
 

Question #2:  Applicant’s name matches the picture 
ID submitted with the application. 
 

Question #5:  Address of Special Event matches the 
Event Address listed in Section 4 of the DLLC 
Application. 
 

Question #6:  Event days are consecutive and match 
the days listed in Section 5 of the DLLC Application. 
 

Question #7:  If the answer is “Yes”, it is strongly 
recommended that you contact the Planning and 
Development Department at 602-262-7131, option 
6 to determine if there are any zoning 
restrictions/requirements for an event at a private 
residence. 

City Application - Documents Guide 

Question #8:  If the answer is “Yes”, 
Provide a copy of the Liability Insurance 
coverage listing City of Phoenix as  
co-insured. 
 

Question #9:  If the answer is “Yes”, 
Provide authorization documentation 
from the Parks & Recreation and/or the 
Street Transportation Department 
authorizing the event. 

State (DLLC) Application - Questions Guide 

Section 1: Applicant’s name matches the name listed in #2 of the City 
Application. 
Section 2: Name of Organization matches the Name of Qualified Organization in 
#1 on the City Application. 
Section 4: Event Location lists the name of the event location (e.g., park, private 
residence, parking lot). Event Address matches the Address of Special Event listed 
on #5 of the City Application. 
Section 5: Event days are consecutive and match the days listed on #6 of the City 
Application. License End Time ends by 2 a.m. 
Section 10 #3: If ‘Yes,’ write in the name of the Licensed Contractor, who must be 
listed on the DLLC website at azliquor.gov under ‘Special Event Contractors List.’ 
Section 10 #4: If ‘Yes,’ write in the name of Licensee and License # (must hold an 
active series 6, 7, 11 or 12 license according to azliquor.gov’). 
Section 10 #5: Applying organization is receiving at least 25% of the liquor sales. 
Name of organization must match Section 2 on the DLLC form.  Total liquor sales 
proceeds are accounted for - total must equal 100%. 

State (DLLC) Application - Documents Guide 

Section 7 & 8: If there is an existing license and the event is not using the retail license in all or 
part of the event, provide a letter of agreement from the existing liquor licensee agreeing to 
suspend the active liquor license at the location during the event. The letter should include: 
name of existing business; day(s) & time(s) existing license will be suspended (should match or 
be greater than the event days & times); if applicable, whether only a portion of licensed 
premises will be used/suspended; and the licensee’s signature (person listed with the DLLC). 

Section 10 #1: If the answer is “Yes”, attach a written explanation of conviction(s)/license 
revocation(s).  

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing/liquor/special
http://www.azliquor.gov/
http://www.azliquor.gov/
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APPLICATION FEE: 
Total # of attendees for all event days added together = Application Fee 

 0 - 500 = $290.00  2,501- 5,000 = $310.00 
 501- 2,500 = $300.00  Over 5,000 = $450.00 
 

(Fee determined by Total # of event attendees listed on #10(b) of the Police Dept. Questionnaire)

 An additional $65.00 fee will be charged if the application is

submitted 30 days or less prior to the event date.

 The DLLC charges a separate fee.  Review the DLLC Application

form for the amount.

 Other City/County/State fees may apply.
DAILY LICENSE FEE: $10.00 per event day 

► Applicant Information:
1) Name of Qualified Organization: ______________________________________________________________________ 

List name exactly as listed with AZ Corp. Commission/DLLC/IRS Determination Letter

2) Applicant Name:___________________________________________________________________________________
Last First Middle

3) Applicant Email Address for City Notices:  ______________________________________________________________

4) Applicant Phone Numbers:  Daytime/Cell # : (   )    Organization’s # : (    ) __________________ 

► Event Information:
5) Address of Special Event:  ____________________________________________________________________________ 

Street Address (include Bldg. /Suite #), City, State, ZIP.  Must be an address/cannot be only cross streets.  

6) Date(s) of Event (consecutive days):      From:  /   /     To:  /    /____________ 
If only 1 day, write date twice.    MM     DD   YYYY    MM           DD           YYYY 

7) Is the location a private residence?  (If yes & 500 or more attendees, application must be submitted in time for Council approval.)  Yes     No

8) Is the location a City Owned Property?  (If yes, attach copy of liability insurance coverage showing the City as co-insured.)  Yes     No

9) Will the Event be held in a City Park or Street?  (If yes, attach documentation authorizing the event in the park/street.)  Yes     No

10) The event will be held: (choose one)    Indoors       Outdoors         Both (Additional permits may be required. Refer to Dept. Review Section)

11) General Description of Event: ________________________________________________________________________
   Examples: Concert, Soccer Tournament, Carnival, Festival, Dinner, Dance, Art Show, Wine Tasting, Cultural Celebration. Be detailed/avoid the word “fundraiser” alone. 

12) Description of Event Activities:   ______________________________________________________________________
Examples: Live or Silent Auction, Parade, Pageant, Sports. Be detailed & avoid the word “fundraiser” alone. 

13) Will there be any Rides/Concession Games at the event?        Yes     No   
                      

13.1) If yes, list the name of licensed company providing Rides/Games: _______________________________________________ 

   A licensed amusements company must be used for rides and/or for concession games operated by a concessionaire for profit.  

14) Will an Auctioneer be used at the event?      Yes     No
14.1) If yes, choose a box below and provide details:

 Is licensed in Phoenix; Name of Auctioneer: ____________________________________________________________
 Works for an Auction House licensed in Phoenix; Name of Auction House:  ___________________________________
 Will donate services 

I ACKNOWLEDGE THAT PRIOR TO SUBMITTING THIS APPLICATION I HAVE THOROUGHLY REVIEWED THE CITY OF PHOENIX 
SPECIAL EVENT LIQUOR LICENSE (SERIES 15) APPLICATION PACKET (INCLUDING SECTIONS 1-4).  I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT 
MY APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE, EVEN IF THE APPLICATION IS WITHDRAWN OR DENIED.  I SWEAR UNDER 
PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT I HAVE READ THE FOREGOING APPLICATION AND THAT ALL THE INFORMATION AND STATEMENTS 
MADE HEREIN ARE TRUE AND CORRECT. I ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS EVENT AND THAT IT IS MY 
RESPONSIBILITY, AS THE APPLICANT, TO ENSURE THE EVENT COMPLIES WITH ALL CITY, COUNTY & STATE 
REQUIREMENTS/LAWS. 

Printed Applicant Name:   Signature:   Date: 

5
• City of Phoenix Application & Fee(s)

ACCOUNT #__________________ 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
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1) How many of the following security personnel do you propose to have at the event?  (Answer A-D, then list the total of A-D in TOTAL section below)

A. # of AZ Department of Public Safety (DPS) licensed security guards: # 

Guard Company Name:
  To check on a Guard Company license status visit the DPS licensing unit web site: https://www.azdps.gov/services/public/licensing 

DPS License #    Ph. # ( )  Email Address:  

For  
PD 
USE 

A - D 

Verified 

by PD 

Initials: 

_____ 

B. # of existing security staff from the organization applying for the license: [Person(s) that is currently on the organization’s payroll] # 
C. # of existing security staff from the venue/location designated to cover event: [Person(s) that is currently on the venue’s payroll] # 

Name    Ph. # ( )     Email Address:
D. # of volunteers: (Must be 21 years of age or older & cannot drink alcohol at the event while working) # 

a. How will volunteers be identified? (Example: Same color shirts/name tags/hats)

TOTAL for #1 (Add A-D): This # must match “Number of Security Personnel” on the DLLC Application. #
TOTAL (A-D)

2) How many Police Officers (AZ Post-Certified) do you propose to have at the event?
 #

Must 

match  

Sec. 6  

‘Number of 

Police’  on 

DLLC form. 

For 
PD 

USE 
• If hiring Phoenix Police, call the Off-duty Work Detail 602-262-7323 as soon as the application is submitted to

License Services.  Be prepared to provide: the date(s)/time(s) of the event, # of officers you are proposing to have,
maximum peak attendance (maximum # of attendees that will be at the event at any given time), & if you have
already checked with a specific officer’s availability to work the event--provide the name of the specific officer you
are requesting, to see if he/she is available.

• If hiring Police from another jurisdiction, list that jurisdictions coordinator’s information:
Name:    Ph. # ( )    Email Address:

Verified 

by PD  

Initials: 

_____ 

3) Will all security listed in #1 & #2 (above) be present during the entire event?        Yes        No, some will be staggered.
If the answer is “No” & security will be staggered, PD will contact you and ask you to fill out a “Proposed Security Plan for Staggered Security” page. 

EVENT DETAILS: 
4) The event will be:  (choose one)  Open to public       Invitation only       Members/Guests only

5) The following types of alcohol will be served:  (choose all that apply)     Beer      Wine        Spirituous liquor

6) Alcohol will be served in:   (choose all that apply)  Glasses        Bottles       Disposable cups
  (If the event is outdoors: only disposable cups are allowed.  Exception: wine glasses are allowed at formal affairs.)  

 

7) Alcohol will be served:  (choose one)         Throughout entire event        Only in Beer Garden(s)
Answer a.- c. ONLY if the answer above in #7 is “Only in Beer Garden(s)”  (Otherwise leave a-c blank and jump to question #8)

a. Will the garden(s) be:  (choose one)        21 & older only  (You must card at the garden entrance.)  All ages  (You must card at the point of sale.)

b. What is the estimated maximum peak attendance inside the garden(s)?
(The maximum peak attendance = the maximum number of persons that are estimated to be inside the beer garden(s), at once, at any given time.)

c. What type of barriers/enclosure will the Beer Garden(s) have?
(Examples: 6’ chain link fence (covered or uncovered); 3 ½’ lattice or picket fence (typically white); 4’ or 6’ plastic (typically orange) construction fence; metal barricades (like bicycle 
fencing); Block walls; Second story or higher balcony. The type of enclosure can also be a mixture of things.  Example: west side = block wall, east and north side = 6’ chain link, south 
side = 3 ½’ lattice or picket fence with an opening for ingress/egress.) 

8) How will you prevent underage alcohol consumption? (Examples: Wristbands; separate area; 21-and-up event with carding at door/point of sale, hand stamp.)

Provide a specific/detailed answer. Police Officers cannot be used to “card” (verify a person’s age); only volunteers, guard company personnel and/or servers can do “carding”. 
Please Note: If there is any question that a person may not be at least 21 years old, that person must be “carded” at the point of sale/service -- even if that person was 

already carded at the entrance of the event or the entrance of the beer garden (if applicable). 

6
• City of Phoenix Police Department Questionnaire

  SECURITY CONTROLS/MEASURES: 

 The applicant must provide a proposal for security for the event.  The Police Department (PD) will review the security proposal and may 
r equire modifications (more, less, or different security).  The PD will contact the applicant to discuss the security proposal and event 
 details. The PD will verify the information listed (and any subsequent changes) in #1 - #3 (below) with the corresponding agency(s).  
Please  call the PD Liaison at: 602-438-6625 if you have not been contacted within 2 business days of submitting your Special Event  
Liquor License application to License Services.  

ACCOUNT #___________________ 

https://www.phoenix.gov/cityclerk/services/licensing
mailto:liquor@phoenix.gov
https://www.azdps.gov/services/public/licensing
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9) List the Event end-times and the Liquor Service end-times below for each day of the event. Please note that Police will require
that Liquor Service end at least ½ hour before the Event end-time.  (Attach more pages if needed)

Date 
Liquor Service end-time 

(at least 1/2 hr. before 
Event end time) 

Event end-time 
(Must match ‘License End Time’ 
on DLLC application.)

Date Liquor Service end-time 
(at least 1/2 hr. before Event end time) 

Event end-time 
(Must match ‘License End Time’ on DLLC 

application.)

Day 1: Day 4: 

Day 2: Day 5: 

Day 3: Day 6:

10) a. What is the total daily attendance each day & the maximum peak attendance each day?  (Attach more pages if needed)
• Total daily attendance = total # of people expected to attend the event that day. 
• Maximum peak attendance = the maximum number of persons that are estimated to be at the event (all at once) at any given time.
• The total daily attendance can not be lower than the maximum peak attendance.

Date Total Daily 
Attendance 

Maximum Peak 
Attendance 

Date Total Daily  Attendance Maximum Peak 
Attendance 

Day 1: Day 4: 

Day 2: Day 5: 

Day 3: Day 6:

b. TOTAL # OF EVENT ATTENDEES:  (This # will be used to calculate the Application Fee) 
 

ADD THE # OF TOTAL DAILY ATTENDEES FOR EACH DAY.  EXAMPLE: FOR A 3 DAY EVENT WITH TOTAL DAILY ATTENDANCE OF 100 EACH DAY = 300 

THE MAXIMUM PEAK ATTENDANCE, TOTAL DAILY ATTENDANCE & TOTAL # OF EVENT ATTENDEES WILL BE USED TO DETERMINE THE LEVELS OF SECURITY REQUIRED 
FOR THE EVENT. IT IS THE APPLICANT’S RESPONSIBILITY TO ENSURE THAT THE LEVELS OF ATTENDANCE LISTED IN THIS SECTION CORRESPOND TO THE LEVELS OF 
ATTENDANCE AT THE EVENT.  

 OTHER EVENT INFORMATION: These items may require other permits. Reference the Departmental Reviews Section of this packet. 
11) Will there be any Temporary Fencing or Barriers at the event?         Yes     No

If the answer is “Yes”: What type?  ___________________________________________________________________________
(Examples: 6’ chain link fence  (covered or uncovered); 3 ½’ lattice or picket fence (typically white); 4’ or 6’ plastic (typically orange) construction fence; metal 
barricades (like bicycle fencing); Block walls; Second story or higher balcony.  The type of enclosure can also be a mixture of things.  Example: west side = block
wall, east and north side = 6’ chain link, south side = 3 ½’ lattice or picket fence with an opening for ingress/egress.)

12) Will there be Live Entertainment or Music?         Yes     No
If the answer is “Yes”: What type? ___________________________________________________________________________  

 

[Examples: Live Band/Music (Rock/Country/Jazz, Etc.), Recorded background music (include type), Live Symphony, Dance Group, Mariachi, DJ (include type of music), Children’s Choir.] 

13) How will you address Noise Control?  _________________________________________________________________________

14) What type of Event Parking will you have?   ____________________________________________________________________
  (Example: Existing/shuttle/adjacent to property/street parking.) 

15) Will there be any Fireworks or Pyrotechnics in connection with the event?  Yes     No

PLEASE NOTE:  POLICE OFFICERS & OTHER OFFICIALS MAY VISIT THE EVENT TO CONFIRM THAT THE APPLICANT/EVENT IS COMPLYING 
WITH THE INFORMATION PROVIDED ON THIS POLICE DEPARTMENT QUESTIONNAIRE.  UNAPPROVED CHANGES TO THE EVENT AND/OR 
LIQUOR VIOLATIONS DURING THE EVENT MAY IMPACT FUTURE APPLICATION APPROVALS AND CAN RESULT IN IMMEDIATE 
ENFORCEMENT ACTION AND/OR PROSECUTION.  

I ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I HAVE THOROUGHLY REVIEWED THIS PACKET, CITY APPLICATION & CITY POLICE 
QUESTIONNAIRE (SEC. 1-6) AND THAT I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS EVENT AND IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY AS THE 
APPLICANT TO ENSURE THE EVENT COMPLIES WITH ALL CITY, COUNTY & STATE REQUIREMENTS/LAWS. 

Printed Applicant Name: ___________________________________  Signature:   Date: _________ 

FOR STAFF USE ONLY:   Department Recommendation:     Police Department      Other Dept.: _______________________________________________ 
 

 No Basis for Denial      Denial w/Memo        Signature:__________________________________________  Date: ______________________________ 

Police summary attached?     Yes     No   Comments: ______________________________________________________________________ 

6
• City of Phoenix Police Department Questionnaire ... Continued

ACCOUNT #___________________ 
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