​ ​



Williams Forms Phoenix 2020 Census Complete Count CommitteeWilliams Forms Phoenix 2020 Census Complete Count Committee<div class="ExternalClass64A55B51C3FB422CA27289F3FE6793FF">PHOENIX – Mayor Thelda Williams and the City Council today formed the Phoenix 2020 Census Complete Count Committee – a diverse group of community and industry leaders who will develop and implement a public awareness program to inform Phoenix residents about the importance of completing the 2020 Census.<br><br>"Census Day is April 1, 2020, but we must work diligently now to ensure a complete count of Phoenix's growing and diverse population—having the community's support and collaboration is critical in this mission," said Mayor Thelda Williams. "The broad range of individuals on this committee will be key in educating the public about the 2020 Census to make sure everyone is counted."<br><br>The U.S. Constitution mandates that every resident be counted every 10 years. The count aids the federal government in determining how to distribute more than $675 billion in federal funds and also determines each state's number of congressional seats.<br><br>Phoenix estimates it receives $533 in funding for each resident counted, approximating $866 million annually to provide services residents need and depend on. <div><br>An undercount of Phoenix residents could adversely affect Community Development Block Grants (CSBG), Section 8 housing assistance, Head Start/Early Head Start, Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) food and nutritional services and Medicaid, and law enforcement/homeland security grants, among other major programs. Additionally, highway and transit planning and construction would also be seriously impacted by an undercount.  <br><br>The following individuals have been appointed to the Complete Count Committee, organized by subcommittees:<br><br><span style="text-decoration:underline;">Media and Technology Subcommittee</span></div><div><span style="text-decoration:underline;"></span><ul><li>Maria Barquin, Programming Director, Radio Campesina<br></li><li>Abbie Fink, Vice President, HMA Public Relations </li><li>Ian Foss, Regional Marketing Leader, Clear Channel </li><li>Manny Garcia, Owner, Prensa Hispana </li><li>Laura Madrid, General Manager, La Onda 1190AM </li><li>Mary Rabago, Mary Rabago Productions </li><li>Kelly Taft, Communications Manager, Maricopa Association of Governments </li><li>Tim Tait, Director of Communications, ADOT<br></li></ul><span style="text-decoration:underline;">Business and Finance Subcommittee </span><br><ul><li>Maria Baier, SVP Public Affairs, Phoenix Suns </li><li>Thomas Barr, Executive Director, Local First Arizona </li><li>Terry Benelli, Executive Director, LISC Phoenix </li><li>Sue Glawe, Vice President, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona </li><li>Marcus Johnson, Director of State Health Policy and Advocacy, Vitalyst </li><li>Dave Martin, President, AGC </li><li>Tammy McLeod, CEO, Flinn Foundation </li><li>Jeff Moloznik, Vice President, Red Development </li><li>Peggy Neely, Managing Partner, Neely Public Strategies </li><li>Danny Ortega, Partner, Ortega Law Group </li><li>Devney Preuss, Executive Director, Phoenix Community Alliance </li><li>Todd Sanders, President, Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce<br></li></ul><span style="text-decoration:underline;">Equitable Outreach Subcommittee </span><br><ul><li>Luis Acosta-Herrera, Phoenix Director, Stand for Children </li><li>Myriam Cruz, Director of Community Affairs, Friendly House </li><li>Petra Falcon, Founder, Promise AZ </li><li>Phil Gordon, former Phoenix Mayor  </li><li>Patricia Hibbeler, CEO, Phoenix Indian Center </li><li>Joe Larios, Co-Director, Insight Consultants </li><li>Jennifer Longdon, Editor, LivAbility magazine </li><li>Francisca Montoya, Research and Planning Director, Raza Development </li><li>Eva Olivas, Executive Director, Phoenix Revitalization Corporation </li><li>Phil Pangrazio, President and CEO, Ability360 </li><li>Karyn Pina, Chief Strategy Officer, NALEO Education Fund </li><li>Shannon Scutari, Co-Founder, Sustainable Communities Collaborative </li><li>Muktar Sheikh </li><li>Diana Yazzie-Devine, President and CEO, Native Connections<br></li></ul>Additional members will be appointed as needed through April 2019.<br><div style="text-align:center;"><br></div><div style="text-align:center;">-30-<br></div></div></div>10/17/2018 11:45:00 PMRaquel Estupinan(602) 261-8823