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What are my rights? 

A landlord must supply reasonable air conditioning and cooling in units that have an air conditioning 
unit installed, or where air conditioning is offered. Arizona law provides remedies that tenants may use 
when the air conditioning fails in their rented home.  

What steps should I take when my air conditioning is not working? 

If the landlord fails to supply air conditioning, you may do one of the following:  

o Give written notice (Form A) that landlord has 5 calendar days to make the repair.  If the landlord 
does not timely make the repair, you can then decide whether to terminate the lease and leave.  If 
you decide to terminate the lease, you will need to provide an additional notice (Form B) that states 
your intended move-out date. You will be responsible for any rent during this time.  See A.R.S. 33-
1361(A).   
 

o Give written notice (Form A) that landlord has 5 calendar days to make the repair.  If landlord does 
not timely make the repair, you may bring a lawsuit for an injunction (to force landlord to make 
repairs) and for money damages.  See A.R.S. 33-1361(B).      
 

o Give written notice (Form A) that if landlord does not make the repair in 10 calendar days (or 
sooner as conditions require in an emergency), you will hire a licensed contractor to repair the air 
conditioning.  You can check the license at the Arizona Registrar of Contractors at 
http://www.azroc.gov/ or (602) 542-1525, or Toll Free within AZ: 1-877-MY AZROC (1-877-692-
9762).  
 
Warning:  You may only use this remedy if the repair costs less than $300 or one-half of your 
monthly rent, whichever amount is greater.  For example, if your rent is $700, the repair must stay 
under $350.  You will be able to deduct the cost of that repair from your rent payment.  See A.R.S. § 
33-1363(A). 

After the contractor completes the repair, you will need to have the contractor fill out and sign a 
“Waiver of Lien” (See Form C) and provide you with an itemized bill marked “PAID.”  You must 
give your landlord copies of these documents, along with the “Self Help Remedy:  Completion” 
notice (Form D), and payment of the amount of rent owed minus the deduction for the contractor’s 
bill.  

o Give written notice (Form A) that landlord has a reasonable time to repair.  If the repair is not 
timely made, you can choose to procure reasonable amounts of air conditioning or cooling 
yourself.  What does this mean?  Examples are purchasing fans or a window-mounted air 
conditioning unit.  If you take these steps, you will be able to deduct the “actual reasonable cost” 
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from your rent.  You must keep all receipts from these purchases, and be able to prove that you 
purchased the items after the deadline stated on the notice you gave the landlord for fixing the air 
conditioning unit.  See A.R.S. § 33-1364(A)(1). 

 
o Give written notice (Form A) that landlord has a reasonable time to repair. If the repair is not timely 

made, you can choose to pay for reasonable, temporary substitute housing (such as renting a hotel 
room) until the landlord repairs the air conditioning in your home.  Just like with the other 
remedies, you will need to keep all your receipts so you can prove that you used substitute housing 
only for the time period from the deadline stated on the notice until air conditioning was restored to 
your home. 

Warning:  You may deduct a maximum of 125% of your rent amount for the substitute housing.  
For example, if your AC is out for a month and your rent is $800/month, you will be excused from 
the full $800 and can be reimbursed up to another $200 ($800 x 25%).  If your AC is out for a 
week and your rent is $800/month, you can be excused for up to $250.  See A.R.S. 33-1364(A)(3).  

o Give written notice (Form A) that landlord has a reasonable time to repair.  If the landlord does not 
timely make the repair, you can sue the landlord to recover money for the reduced value of your 
home from the deadline stated on the notice until the air conditioning was restored to your home.  
See A.R.S. 33-1364(A)(2). 

 

Notices may be hand delivered to landlord (or landlord’s authorized agent) or sent to landlord by 
certified mail.  Strongly recommend that notices be hand delivered, as notices sent by certified 
mail are deemed to be received on the date landlord actually receives the notice or 5 days after 
the notice is mailed, whichever occurs first.  

 

Make sure to keep copies of any notices you give to the landlord so that you can show them to                   
the court.   

 

These remedies are not available if you, your family or your guest caused the air conditioning to 
stop working by a deliberate or careless act, or failing to act. 

The information provided in this brochure is for informational purposes only. 
It is not legal advice or a substitute for legal counsel. 

       Revised May 2016



 

[Form A] 

NOTICE OF FAILURE TO PROVIDE ADEQUATE AIR CONDITIONING  

                                       AND NOTICE OF TENANT’S REMEDY 

The air conditioning is not functioning in the home I rent from you.  Under Arizona Statutes I can 
choose a remedy for your failure to provide essential services, or breaching the statutes concerning 
health and safety in the dwelling.  A.R.S. §§ 33-1324 and -1361(a), 1363, or 1364.  This notice advises 
you that I have chosen the remedy checked below. 

____Air conditioning repairs must be made to bring the dwelling into compliance with the Arizona 
Residential Landlord Tenant Act laws concerning dwelling health and safety.  If this is not remedied 
in 5 days, I will terminate my rental agreement.  A.R.S. §§ 33-1324 and -1361 (A). 

____Air conditioning repairs must be made to bring the dwelling unit into compliance with the Arizona 
Residential Landlord Tenant Act laws concerning dwelling health and safety.  If this is not remedied 
in 5 days, I will bring a lawsuit asking the court to issue an injunction requiring you to make the 
needed repairs and/or an award of damages.  A.R.S. § 33-1361(B). 

____ Air conditioning repairs must be made to bring the dwelling into compliance with the Arizona 
Residential Landlord Tenant Act laws concerning dwelling health and safety.  If this breach is not 
remedied in 10 days (or sooner as conditions require in case of emergency), I will hire a licensed 
contractor myself to correct the condition.  I have the right to use this self-help remedy if the cost of 
repair is less than $300 or one-half my monthly rent, whichever amount is greater.  I will deduct this 
amount from my next rental payment.  A.R.S. §§ 33-1324, 1363(A).  

____Air conditioning repairs must be made to bring the dwelling into compliance with the Arizona 
Residential Landlord Tenant Act.  If this is not remedied within a reasonable time, I will obtain 
reasonable amounts of air conditioning until you supply it, and deduct the reasonable cost from 
my rental payment.  A.R.S. § 33-1364(A)(1).   

____Air conditioning repairs must be made to bring the dwelling into compliance with the Arizona 
Residential Landlord Tenant Act.  If this is not remedied within a reasonable time, I will obtain 
substitute housing until air conditioning is restored to the dwelling.  I will deduct the cost of that 
housing from my rental payment, and may recover up to another 25% of the rental amount, if 
the substitute housing costs that much more than my usual monthly rental payment.  A.R.S. § 33- 
1364(A)(3).   

_____Air conditioning repairs must be made to bring the dwelling into compliance with the Arizona 
Residential Landlord Tenant Act.  If this is not remedied within a reasonable time, I will bring a 
lawsuit for damages, to recover the difference between the fair rental value of the dwelling with air 
conditioning, and its value without it, as is.  A.R.S. § 33-1364(A)(2).  
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Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. 

Date of this notice: ____________________________________________ 

Tenant signature: _____________________________________________ 

Tenant name:   ____________________________________________ 

Property address: _____________________________________________ 

 

Method of delivery: 

 

__hand delivered on ___________________ 

__certified mail which was mailed on ___________________ 
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[Form B] 

NOTICE OF INTENT TO VACATE and  

REQUEST FOR INSPECTION 

(Tenant is terminating lease) 

On ___________________, I notified you of repairs that needed to be made to my rental unit.   
Those repairs were not made in five days, as is required for problems that affect health and 
safety in the dwelling.  Arizona Revised Statutes §§ 33-1324 and -1361 (A).  For that reason, 
the Statutes permit me to terminate my lease, and this Notice advises you that I intend vacate 
the dwelling located at: 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

 

My move out date is:  _____________________________________ 

Before I return the keys on the move-out date, I request that you inspect the premises to ensure 
the dwelling is in the same condition as when I took possession of it, with ordinary wear and 
tear excepted.  Thank you. 

Tenant signature:_______________________________ 

Name of tenant:________________________________ 

Date of this notice:______________________________ 

 

Please send my refundable security deposit to: 

 ________________________________ 

 ________________________________ 

 ________________________________ 

Method of delivery: 

__hand delivered on ______________   

__certified mail which was mailed on _________________ 



 

[Form C] 

 

 

WAIVER OF LIEN 

To be completed by the licensed contractor after the work has been completed and paid for. 

 

By signing below, I hereby waive any lien I may have for the air conditioning work I performed 
at the premises located at: 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

 

Renter’s name:_____________________________________________________ 

 

Contractor signature:_______________________________________________ 

 

Contractor’s company/name of business:_________________________________ 

 

Contractor license number:____________________________________________ 

 

Date(s) work performed:______________________________________________ 



 

 

[Form D] 

 

TENANT’S NOTICE OF  

COMPLETED REPAIRS 

 

On ___________________, you were notified that if air conditioning was not restored to my 
rental property, I would hire a licensed contractor to complete necessary repairs.  The air 
conditioning was not restored, so I hired and paid a licensed contractor, who completed the 
necessary repair work.  In accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes §§ 33-1324 and -1363(A), 
because the repair was less than $300 or one-half my regular monthly rent (whichever amount is 
greater), I will be deducting the cost of the repair from my monthly rent payment. 

Attached to this notice are work receipts, proof the contractor was paid and the lien 
waiver signed by the contractor.  The address of the property is: 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

 

Tenant signature:_______________________________ 

Name of tenant:________________________________ 

Date of this notice:______________________________ 

 

Method of delivery: 

__hand delivered on ______________ 

__certified mail which was mailed on_________________ 

 

 

 


