​Ad-Hoc Electric Vehicle Subcommittee
(Sunset June 30, 2022)

On April 22, 2021, Mayor Kate Gallego announced a new effort to advance the adoption of electric vehicles in Phoenix with Councilwoman Yassamin Ansari as its chair. While Phoenix has made important strides in expanding electric vehicle infrastructure, the goal of this committee was to develop an ambitious and equitable roadmap on vehicle electrification for the City of Phoenix. Not only did this ad-hoc committee create a plan that will create the conditions necessary for the people of Phoenix to confidently make the switch, but it helped to tackle some of the leading issues our city is facing - including climate change, public health, and the economy.​

Goals of the Committee​

  • Review existing charging infrastructure (fleet, employee, and public), and develop list of recommended locations for additional charging infrastructure to ensure comprehensive coverage and equitable access

  • Develop strategies to facilitate EV adoption city-wide, with special consideration of affordability, accessibility, and equity

  • Develop goals and target dates for municipal fleet electrification

  • Develop goals and target dates for fleet, employee, and public charging infrastructure implementation

  • Review and recommend policy options for electric vehicle charging infrastructure

  • Review existing partnerships with utilities and other partners and recommend opportunities to leverage additional resources​

Current Members

Councilwoman Yassamin Ansari, Chair 

Omar Gonzales

Delbert Hawk

Autumn Johnson​

Kathy Knoop

Clark Miller

Catherine O'Brien 

Vianey Olivarria

Lisa M. Perez

Caryn Potter

Court Rich 

Columba Sainz

Timothy Sprague

Katherine Stainken

Jason Smith​

This EV Ad Hoc Committee will sunset on June 30, 2022. The Ad Hoc Committee will be supported by staffer from Office of Sustainability, Planning and Development Department and Public Works Department.  ​