Dial-a-Ride

Dial-a-ride driver assisting rider get into vehicle.

​You can now schedule your next Dial-a-Ride trip online. The video below is a quick tutorial of the online reservation process.


About Dial-a-Ride

Traveling around the city can be challenging if you are a person with a disability and are unable to use the fixed route transit system. But if you are a Phoenix resident and are certified in meeting the Americans with Disabilities Act requirements, there is Phoenix Dial-a-Ride (DAR).  Phoenix DAR is a shared-ride service that allows you to schedule trips and to travel in small transit vehicles around the city.

Phoenix DAR is defined as a shared-ride service where a driver may pick-up or drop-off other passengers before taking you to your destination within the Phoenix DAR service area.

​Phoenix Dial-a-Ride Service Hours: ​Fare Amounts:
Monday - Friday 4 a.m. - 12 a.m.
Saturday & Sunday/Holidays 4 a.m. - 12 a.m.
​One-way trip: $4
ADA Monthly Pass: $65
Holidays: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Day, President's Day, Memorial Day (Observed), Independence Day, Labor Day, Veteran's Day, Thanksgiving and the day after Thanksgiving, and Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

Phoenix Dial-a-Ride Guide - English (PDF) ​

Phoenix Dial-a-Ride Reservation Call Center:

​Hours:
Phone Numbers:
​8 a.m. to 9 p.m., seven days a week
Voice: (602) 253-4000
Toll free: 1-800-775-7295 (Arizona residents only)
TTY (text telephone): (602) 258-9980


If you can't make your trip, please call to cancel at least two hours before the scheduled pickup time. This will help the driver avoid making unnecessary stops.


Eligibility

The use of the Dial-a-Ride program requires ADA Certification. ADA Certification is processed by Valley Metro. Please call Valley Metro ADA Certification Office at (602) 716-2100 or visit their website at https://www.valleymetro.org/ada-paratransit-eligibility.

Schedule a Trip

Scheduling a trip is easy! You can schedule a trip by calling the reservation call center or online.

Telephone Reservations

Hours:
​Phone Numbers:
Open seven days a week, 8 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Voice: (602) 253-4000 
Toll free: 1-800-775-7295 (Arizona residents only) 
TTY (text telephone): (602) 258-9980

Introducing a new web based application that allows individuals to reserve trips online. 

To get started, follow these simple steps!

  1. Call (602) 253-4000 to get your ID number and temporary password
  2. Visit - HTTPS://DAR.PHOENIX.GOV
  3. Enter your ID in the "ID" box
  4. Enter the temporary password in the "Password" box
  5. Then, click "Log in" and that's it.
  6. You are now ready to book your trips online!
To better safeguard your account, we encourage you to change your password and add your email address to your profile. You can do this by selecting "Profile" from the left navigation bar.
  1. Under the "Basic Information" section, click on the "Change Password" box and follow the prompts to change your password
  2. Under the "Contact Information" section, enter your "Preferred Email" address and click "SAVE" at the bottom right of your screen to save your email address to your profile
Note: You must be ADA certified to use the website.

Click on the video below for a tutorial of the online reservation process.

Frequently Asked Questions

What type of payment is accepted by Phoenix Dial-a-Ride?

Phoenix Dial-a-Ride fares are $4 one-way and exact change is required; but you can also pay with Regional Dial-a-Ride tickets, Phoenix Dial-a-Ride tickets, or the Dial-a-Ride monthly pass.

Can I schedule recurring trips?

Phoenix Dial-a-Ride provides a subscription service to help passengers who make repetitive travel, such as work trips, school trips, or medical trips, at least once a week for a duration of 30 days or longer. Passengers must meet qualifying criteria and there must be available capacity. Contact the Reservation Call Center at (602) 253-4000 for additional details about Dial-a-Ride subscription service.

Can I have others ride with me?

Yes, traveling companions fall under three categories:

Personal Care Attendant

A personal care attendant (PCA) is an individual who must accompany a passenger in order for the passenger to fulfill the purpose of his or her trip. For an individual to qualify as an attendant, the ADA-certified passenger must have established the need for a PCA during the ADA eligibility process. PCAs are always allowed to ride with an eligible passenger and are not required to pay a fare. They must, however, travel from the same point of origin and to the same destination as the passenger.

Companion

A companion is someone riding with an ADA-certified passenger, but not as a PCA. One companion is always allowed to ride with the passenger as long as a reservation has been made for the companion, and the companion travels from the same point of origin to the same destination. The companion pays the same fare as the passenger. More than one companion is allowed if space is available.

Children

Passengers traveling with children under the age of five are responsible for providing an infant car seat.

Can my child use Phoenix Dial-a-Ride?

The child must be an ADA-certified passenger. Any child under the age of six-years-old must travel with a responsible adult.

What happens when I'm a no-show?

No-shows make it difficult to provide services efficiently and cause delays and inconvenience for other riders. All passengers are responsible for calling to cancel trips that are not needed. A series of no shows may result in a suspension from Phoenix Dial-a-Ride services.